Linkbacks

So, along with everything else, I read a number of blogs and posts on social media. This is one I found via Google+. I believe, and I’d like to share it as an example of what was wrong with older editions of D&D:

http://rdonoghue.blogspot.com/2012/02/golf-bag-tactician.html

I remember doing this, because on occasion, your “martial” character could run into things he couldn’t injure without the right weapon. I even have a sketch, buried somewhere, of a character with a quiver for his swords.

Not my idea of good game design.

On that note, I also found this post by Wil Wheaton that sums up why I like D&D 4e:

http://suicidegirls.com/news/geek/23470/

Wil pretty much sums up how 4e felt to me. In fact, I got to discussing this with another player after Encounters last week. He’s going for his Masters or Ph.D. in Mathematics, and he commented on how he likes the elegance of the 4e math. He also commented on how he found at least one older edition (3.5) far too complicated; “And I like to do calculus, so that should say something.”

Just felt like sharing those.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 28, 2012, in D&D 4e. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

