Three in two days!

I found this through Google+:

http://uadnd.blogspot.com/2012/05/dear-wizards-of-coast.html

I have read the replies (even the other consultant’s multiple posts of the same thing, over and over) and I have to agree with the initial post. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again: I think the edition treadmill is no longer a viable business model in the modern age. I think even WWGS figured this out with the Word of Darkness games. The “new edition every couple of years” business plan has hurt many game systems, I have no doubt. I know Champions and Tunnels and Trolls both used to be more popular, and both are now beyond six editions. Champions went from 4th to 6th in about 10 years time. I don’t even remember remember seeing 5th on the stands for long. I never really even saw most of the Tunnels and Trolls editions, ever.

So, I personally would like to Wizards take this advice and run with it. However, I know they won’t. And that will water down the D&D branding even more, until Hasbro shuts the doors…

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on June 1, 2012, in D&D 4e, Metagaming. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

