Trying the NaBloPoMo thing…

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-nablopomo.htm

Yes, after a month of not posting, this year I’m going to try making a post a day here. The most difficult days for the month will be Fridays and Saturdays, mainly because I spend most of my waking hours with friends and their children, or gaming, so I already know those days will be difficult. (Note: By my time, it’s currently 11:15 PM, so it’s still November 1st as I post this.)

I spent most of October working towards gathering stuff to put up for sale on eBay. I’ve inherited a lot of gaming material over the years, and there’s some of it that just needs to go. And I need the money, as I haven’t found a job yet. I tried getting rid of some of the load at the FLGS Used Game Sale, but I came home with much more than I sold. Maybe one of my posts will include a link to my eBay sale listings. 🙂

I do want to start getting into my idea for my new setting, and some of my concerns as I work on it.

As I wrote in my last post, they setting is sort of a mash-up of Star Wars and Fantasy. To clarify, it is to be a fantasy setting with some of the feel of Star Wars. That is, I want some of the trappings of Star Wars in what the PCs will experience. I want spaceships and blasters and mystic knights, but I want magic as technology.

I had been intrigued by the Dragonstar setting when it first came out, but it soon lost it’s luster. It was too science and not enough Fantasy. I felt Monte Cook’s Dark Space setting for the Iron Crown Enterprise games to be a bit indecisive; it couldn’t determine whether it was a fantasy setting or a science fiction setting. In fact, what I am creating is almost more of a Spelljammer setting. However, there are elements of Spelljammer I intend to omit or avoid.

I think I’ll leave it there for now, in order to pace myself a little better. Tomorrow, I’ll try to list some of the things I’ll be omitting or changing from the Spelljammer setting. I’ll also be looking at some of the things I’ll be looking to add to replace what I remove.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 2, 2012, in NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

