NaBloPoMo #7

(Posted 11:50PM PST 2012/11/7)

So, what to write about today…

The cosmography is something in which I’m having a bit of a hang up. I’m not sure how I want to lay the universe out, except that there is travel between worlds in what I call the StarSea. Do my worlds lay in a galactic pattern, and if so, what type? Or do they rest in some kind of tree-like shape, like Ygdrassil? Or do I do some random pattern? Are the worlds even round (I think that’s likely), or are they islands in the “sea”? With pirates and raiders in some sort of spaceship, the islands idea could work, but is it what I want?

I know I want something fantastic, so I’m trending away from the standard galactic shapes. Part of the history that’s in my head at the moment is that the current arrangement of the worlds was created sometime in the distant past by a race of beings who have long since passed out of the universe. So, I can pretty much justify whatever I decide on within the world, and eventually have players find those justifications in play.

At one point, I was also considering that each world have a sun and moon trapped in rings rotating each world like those in the title sequence of A Game of Thrones TV show. I’ve pretty much discarded that idea because I couldn’t figure out how to make an eclipse work. Of course, it could be an object other than the moon that also moved on the rings around the worlds, but if all of the worlds have these rings, they stop being fantastic. As well, what purpose would eclipses serve, especially once the inhabitants of the worlds started to travel in space, knowing what was transpiring. Obviously, there are things I need to rethink as part of the layout of the cosmos. So, I even have to determine how the worlds have day/night cycles.

Gods of the suns and moons will not exist as individuals, for simplicity’s sake. I don’t want to have to track two gods for each world (what is the sun god named on World X?).

Well, that’s just the beginnings of my thoughts on the cosmography of this setting, the StarSea. Maybe one of you will leave a comment as to what you like in what I’ve posted, or maybe you’ll have a new idea I haven’t considered.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 8, 2012, in NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

