NaBloPoMo #10

(Posted 1:11 AM PST 2012/11/10)

(Found that lost draft! Yippee!)

So, I have a couple of things I can cover…

I mentioned that I’m choosing to work on this setting than a Modern Magic setting. There’s a couple of reasons. If I were to do a Modern Magic game, I’d want it to something like Mage the Ascension, but not with the Storyteller System. I used to have some issues with WWGS’s leadership due to my membership in the their fan club. With their former leader gone, I’m more interested in their publications, but there are critical flaws in the ST System that I can’t hack (the more skilled you are, the great your chance of catastrophic failure). Also, I have the kids to think of, and after some gaming this weekend, I can say that the freeform magic system of Mage would be infuriating to the adults. Other games with similar rules tend to have other flaws, such as AEternal Legends, a game I loved, but was mathematically flawed in a pretty serious fashion (the damage system, including the DriveThru expansion, made no sense), and Wyrd is Bond, which also had it’s failures (being too freeform).

The hardest part of using 4e is the lack of extensibility in regards to the digital tools. My group is now used to using the Character Builder to track their characters. I could limit available books, but that only solves part of the problem. I also can’t easily add in my own creations of gear or themes to add to the feel that I’m looking for. On the other hand, the game largely works, and my players know it.

Tommorow, I think I’m going to discuss some of my ideas for the technology of the setting…

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 10, 2012, in NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

