NaBloPoMo #12

(Posted 11:59 PM PST, 2012/11/12)

So, I thought yesterday I’d talk about The Powers That Be in the StarSea setting.

This will be a setting in which the outsiders are much more distant that the typical setting. In many settings, the PCs have the possibility of actually meeting the gods. Not so in the StarSea. Or at least, that’s opinion right now. By making the gods unable to be approached (for whatever reason), it returns gods to someone to have faith in. I want that in the game, as I have certain philosophies underlying the three major knightly orders. Divine characters get their power through faith.

Their gods are stern gods. I think of Erathis in the Nentir Vale setting primarily, and maybe Bane. The gods of the Divine Order are strict, harsh gods. This helps set them as enemies for the more egalitarian Psionic Order.

The Arcanists have some sort of evil they bargain with for power. Whether that’s demons, devils or something… else is up for grabs at this point. Maybe even all three, to create some internal conflict that might explain why they haven’t gotten farther in conquering everyone else. Asmodeus, Zehir, and Tiamat would fit the bill.

The Pisonics don’t have gods, but “Venerates,” a name I’m lifting from Neo-Exodus, I think. That is, these folks have beings they hold up as exemplars of the proper way to behave and as paths to enlightenment. Ioun and Moradin are ideas I think fit this concept, if we take them as ascended mortals.

Tomorrow, I think I’ll go off on a tangent and discuss some of the origins of my ideas.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 13, 2012, in NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

