NaBloPoMo #14

(Posted 11:33 PM, PST 2012/11/14)

Wow, I’ve managed two straight weeks of posts. In the words of Aquaman on Batman: The Brave and the Bold: “OUTRAGEOUS!”

I didn’t dangle anything for today’s post at the end of yesterday’s post, so I’m kind of at a loss right now. I’d like to be able to say that now I’ll work out some of my dangling issues, but I doubt that will happen. I’m at a point in which I need to hammer out the structure of the cosmos, and then set down my history and nations, and then build the things I need to flavor the game, like races, themes/archetypes and wyrdtech. Until I start getting those hammered out, I can’t really move forward much. I also need to settle on a rules set, but I think I can delay that for a while.

I’d thought about Reign a little, especially as the Enchirion is available for only 10USD, but there are some sort of hinkie rules I want to avoid (like squishing spreads, etc.). I like the Wild Talents variant of the One Roll Engine, but I really don’t want to deal with the power building I’d need to do. I also just started reading through the Savage World Deluxe Explorer’s Edition, and I made it a fair way through the book in just a couple of hours. The price is really affordable (again, 10USD), and the rules are pretty adaptable to various settings without the crazy details of GURPS. And there’s still 4e, which I’m rather partial to. However, I realize that the fact that 4e is so different from older versions for D&D, so much so that a lot of people don’t care for it, is part of the draw to it for me. And again, it helps my players already know 4e and like it, including the kids.

I likely have at least two years, so I’m in no real rush.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 15, 2012, in NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

