NaBloPoMo #18

(Posted 11:55 PM PST 2012/11/18)

So, most of my thinking today has been one of two things.

First, in most RPGs, the word “race” is entirely misused. In the real world, a race is a primarily cultural reference that includes some extremely minor genetic differences. Races on Earth are minor adaptations to environment, biologically. In RPGs, particularly so, race refers to creatures who are of different species entirely. If an elf is a “race,” then why do they have such a vastly different set of abilities and rules? Obviously, because they are of a different species. So, in the StarSea, those lifeforms that aren’t human are going to be listed as “species.”

The second thing I’ve been thinking of most is about the Progenitors. Many Sci Fi stories include a species of super-advanced beings who have somehow shaped the current events of the milieu. Niven’s Known Space has the Slavers, Andre Norton wrote of the Forerunners, and even Star Wars has the Rakata. In most stories, they leave items laying around that become story mcguffins. I want to include those, as it allows me to include even more fantastic artifacts, exactly as they’ve always been used in Sci Fi stories.

I’ve wanted to include such a race from the beginning of my design. I wanted them to be the shapers of the StarSea, and I’ve finally come to realize that I have to know them, and who they were, and why they shaped the StarSea as they have. So, to that end, I’m going to start focusing on these guys, and see if I can figure them out, and from there I can figure out a structure for my cosmography.

‘Til tomorrow…

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

