NaBloPoMo #25

(Posted 9:13 PM PST 2012/11/25)

So, last night’s game ended up doing something I hadn’t intended it to, which was provide a gateway into Epic Level play. It was intended to simply be a battle for the kids that turned out having a much more epic feel. Hordes of minions who could keep the players having to rethink their tactics and movements as well as some brutes to keep the others slowed down. While the characters didn’t take a lot of damage, there was a “time bomb” element that kept them on edge. The game went well, and I’m pleased we’re moving forward. There was one element I wanted to revisit (a departed ally), but I think it’s really unnecessary for the plot to move on. I’ve been thinking about this visit for quite a while, but I think it just needs to hit the cutting room floor.

I spent a few hours mini painting, until my back couldn’t handle the pain any more. I really need a better work space. So, outside of that (which I’ve known for quite a while), I learned that the ivory paint I grabbed in an emergency may ruin the project. It has an enamel finish (even though it didn’t say it was enamel on the bottle) so the paints I’m trying to put on top of it is not adhering as well as I’d like. It’s pretty resistance to washes, but it is taking the thinned GW paints I’m using well enough. I repainted all of the bones in white, and gave the bases a base color. I also managed to block in a couple of colors (browns and reds). Tomorrow, I plan on doing the washes over the whites and getting my blacks, “steels,” and “golds” blocked in.

Im closing down early to do some other stuff with what’s left of my night. Mañana.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 26, 2012, in D&D 4e, NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

