On Storytelling and Brain Chemistry

Something I found really interesting, as someone who likes telling stories:

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2012/10/03/paul-zak-kirby-ferguson-storytelling/

I’ve had a couple of insights on personal thoughts I have for StarSea.

One, the name Kirby in the link above made connects nicely to one of those. I realized I wanted to include something of the look of the Thor movie in the world, as well as some of the ideas. Science and magic intertwined, worlds in space with fantastic configurations, heroes who do exiting things while carrying seemingly primitive weapons and armor.

I also noted that some of my ideas reflect something that Andrew Stanton refused to do in this advertising about this time last year: acknowledge John Carter as providing inspiration for a lot of elements of Science Fiction. I’ve been poking around the Internetz, finding others who are gaming with Barsoom-like settings, and realized I expect to have a number of elements that I hope will be a tip of the hat to Mr. Burroughs.

That’s it for tonight. See you soon.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on December 14, 2012, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

