Just a general update.

So, since the last post, I’ve been doing a lot more towards job hunting than thinking about the StarSea. Having an income again is simply more important.

However, I have done some thinking about it, as well as a couple of other things. I am thinking about going to Savage Worlds more. This may be an aftereffect of this weekend’s gaming, but I’m finally feeling what others have commented on about 4e, which is how slow 4e combats are. I ran two encounters this weekend, and both ran around 2.5 hours. Now, one was the climactic combat of an Encounters season I’ve been rerunning as our “D&D for Kids” Game at the FLGS, Crazy Squirrel Game Store. It was a tough battle with few players (four), and being kids, all of them were more concerned with personal actions than true teamwork, so that slowed things down. The other combat was a standard encounter based on Monte Cook’s imfamous “Pactlord Enforcer” encounter for the Banewarrens that was published for 3.x (a mind flayer riding a beholder). While tough, the battle went relatively quickly in game time, but in real time it seemed grossly long. Admittedly, I was running on fumes from personal stuff which caused me to get little sleep. But the combat just seemed too slow to run. However, I’ve got quite a bit of campaign to go, so I’ve got plenty of time to think about how I’ll be running StarSea.

In regards to other aspects of the StarSea, I’ve been trying to work out how the worlds, suns and moons will work together, and I’m not entirely happy with the rings-and-bands idea. Something about it just irks me, and until I get past that, well, I won’t move forward on that aspect. What I kind of want, as I’ve mentioned before, is something like this:

5136Image03

but also including the sun, the moon, and gateways to other nearby worlds. I amy have to reconsider the size of worlds and some other bits and pieces before I get what I really want.

I’ve also been thinking about the knightly orders, their histories and their leadership. Since the orders are the primary factions, in my mind, that means they are also the governments, or strong proponents thereof. So the leadership of the orders will be more important than I had originally thought. Not a big deal, but something I need to consider. And of course, I’m thinking more of the rings/bands are populated by ring giants than PC races. But I’ve also thought of the suns and moons as satellites with portions that the giants live on. Not that this is yet another thing that can’t wait until further into the process.

I’ve also had some ideas about the Ür, or maybe the race that caused them to fall, or had some other negative effect on the StarSea. Yeah, I’ve been thinking about bad guys other than the Arcanist Order. Of course there are other evils. I’ve also got some ideas on dragons… }:-D

One last thing I’ve been thinking about is increasing the pacing on my posts. Starting next month, I think I may try to pace myself into once a week. I don’t think I want to try to go back to daily, like NaBloPoMo yet. I may someday, but not right now. I need to build up to that, I think.

That’s all I’ve got for now. See you next time.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 20, 2013, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

