New job = distraction from gaming…

Of course that’s sort of a facetious title, but it’s sort of accurate. I finally started my new job, but most of my time this week was training rather than driving. That left me rather drained by the end of the day, as it was hordes of computer classes, written at a bonehead level. Left me pretty tired some days, and other stuff going on (including a test for another job) kept me busy all week. I need the income, but it’s that has the typical cost from personal time.

But through it all, I did get some thinking in, as I wandered throughout our wide world. I did some looking at 5e and the skill system therein, and while I still think most of it is crap, there were some nuggets I could use for my skill issue, assuming I use 4e for StarSea. That most skill checks are made against one of three difficulties, and those don’t match the  numbers on the DC charts for 4e, is the core of a solution, I think. The 4e charts are based on some weird numbers, and while I think they take into account some accumulation of magic and attribute bonus, I don’t think they take into account the possibility that the PCs are going to focus on items that bolster their characters’ best abilities. So, I think I’m going to take a swing at adjusting the charts.

Otherwise, I had a long downtime block Wednesday before the LFR game (Living Forgotten Realms) , so I spent my time sketching some armor for StarSea characters. It kind of highlighted one of the issues I have with the 4e classes versus images in my head. That issue is the lack of armor among the core PHB arcane classes. I’m envisioning the Arcanist warriors in the (almost stereotypical) heavy plate armor with spikes, but there are no arcane classes that can wear armor that heavy. The closest are the Bard and the Hexblade and their proficiencies with chain mail. The arcane defender, the  swordmage, is limited to leather armor. They could spend feats to wear heavier armor, but they really don’t need it, from my observations at LFR. So, the image of the hulking warrior wielding magical powers can’t exist in the StarSea, by the mechanics of the system I’m favoring most. So, I either modify the rules or develop my own heavy armor arcanist class. Something I need to cogitate on.

I think that’s all I have for this week. I’ll be prepping for the next segment of my current campaign this week, so things may be pretty light next week, but we’ll see. Laters, all.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in D&D 4e, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

