Some solutions and insights

So, late last week I finally figured out the issue with 4e skills that had me perplexed. As I entered the ranger and bard who had achieved such crazy results into my Excel sheet, as well as the fighter that didn’t, I started seeing the issue. 4e has a strange synergy created by three or four factors: Class skill options, racial and class bonuses, attack power attribute requirements and attribute/skill relations. Essentially, some classes are more geared to create crazy-high results than others, and the right race will only serve to exacerbate the issue.

In the case of the ranger, almost all of their powers, especially for archery-based builds, require either Dexterity or Wisdom. So do their critical skills. So, assuming the player trains his character in those Dex- and Wis- based skills and pumps those attributes at every possible option, getting crazy bonuses is easy. Same with social skills and a bard. I’m betting rogues are the same, but I have yet to input one into my spreadsheet, but I have no doubt the result will be similar. The fighters, paladins and warlord? Nope, nowhere near the same, with the exception of my LFR warlord, who will have a phenomenal Arcane skill.

So, I have begun to see the logic of the bounded accuracy and background systems in 5e. I still don’t like the game as it stands, though.

*****

I also began to see the “simple rules” side of the Old School Renaissance movement. There was a brief disagreement between myself and one of my players this weekend. It was over Opportunity Attacks. I begin to see how someone could see them as too complex.

*****

I also got my copy of Bare Bones Fantasy and tried to figure out how much I’ll have to do to use it as the core for the StarSea. Not a crazy amount, but it would need to be significantly altered to do what I want. I think I need to make similar lists for other systems I’m interested in.

Won’t be tonight, though. I can barely keep my eyes open while reading this. So, to bed I go. TTYL

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on June 25, 2013, in D&D 4e, Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

