Aborted Tests and Video Game Inspiration

So, I’ve been writing up lists of things I think I’ll need (at least at this point) of house rules and such that I’ll need for adapting different games to use for the StarSea campaign. Right now, Savage Worlds looks like the easiest, and 4e looks like it might be the most complicated, simply because, I think, 4e is a much more complicated rules system. Bare Bones Fantasy is coming up in between.

I tried to get the kids to do a playtest of BBF with me this weekend, but anyone with kids knows that getting them to do anything is often like herding cats. Many excuses were made and gaming was put off and put off and then it was bed time. I may just have to find a few adults to help me run a session or two to find out how the game runs.

This weekend, I stumbled across some stuff for a video game called Monster Hunter 3. In it, apparently as players kill off monster mainly of the draconic sort, they can take bits of them and make special weapons and armor. One of the interesting things about this was it inspired some ideas about how Primals might work in the StarSea. Basically, some of the armors available are very much inspired by Native Americans, Eskimo, and African cultures made fantatical. So, I can see possibilities for how they Primals of different worlds can look. In the past, I haven’t seen truly fantastic versions of Earth cultures. Most non-European fantasy settings seem to slavishly follow the real world, and only focusing on the fantastic creatures in those settings. Admittedly, I’ve never been especially interested in most of the non-European fantasy settings in general, so I might have missed something.

Not much more to speak on this week. Even though I typically only work two days a week, my evenings after work tend to be me sleeping a lot, or digging through the day’s Facebook posts and interesting links. God, do I ever need a portable Internet connection. 🙂

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on July 3, 2013, in D&D 4e, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

