An Ending Announced…

So, this week I spent a lot of time working, which means a lot of time napping in the evening, so little time thinking on StarSea. While driving, I find myself too busy watching out for idiots to let my mind wander into the StarSea, but I have done a little thinking on this new world, but I had some slightly more important thoughts, in their way.

I announced last night that we’d be ending my current campaign, which I call Invasions, in our 100th session. Last night was Session 87, so we have 13 more to go. This will take us to early January, assuming we have no interruptions in our schedule. I’ll be dumping the XP system for the end of the game, letting the PCs gain a level every couple of sessions so they can get to 30th and play with all the epicness that they will have available.

Part of my reason for ending the campaign on a specific schedule at this point is my own loss of momentum. I’m getting bored with the campaign, and I want to move on to StarSea. We’ve had a good run. I started the campaign just after my dad died, in October 2009. In three months, we’ll have gone for four years, longer than any other campaign I’ve ever run. I’m usually bored in three years. So I’m due.

I’ve had it in mind to run to 30th level and have that the end of the game, so I’ll be sticking to that. This will be the first time I’ve actually gotten to the end of a campaign, as my last three all petered out due to scheduling issues, whether the Camarilla, our troupe LARP, or simply player issues. I look forward to closing out the game, and I have the final scenes in my head, providing nothing comes along to derail my train of thought. I think it will be satisfying and suitable epic (as I have a pretty cosmic end in mind).

I have thought a bit about the StarSea this week, though. I thought about the names of the orders. I don’t want to keep calling them Divine and Psionic, although “Knights Arcane” has a certain ring to it. I was thinking about “Knights Spiritual” for the Divine Order. I thought about using Noetics for the psionics, as that has popped up recently in other games. While I like the definition, I’m not fond of the word in and of itself. It’s a little too alien. I’ll hunt around more later. I like the Latin (and pseudo-Latin) used by the Earth forces in WH40K, but I don’t want to be too derivative or imitative. I don’t want to reuse “Quantum Knights” as it sounds a little too modern and sci-fi for a fantasy game.

I was also thinking that there won’t be a Primal “Order,” but more of a commonality of thought, which might be related to the activity of the spirits that give them their power, or some machination of the Ür. I really don’t want to have to create a huge number of variations of barbarian knights.

I think that’s all I have for tonight and this week. I’m feeling the day. Laters.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on July 8, 2013, in D&D 4e, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

