Work is good for the /StarSea/

So, last week after my marathon Tuesday, I had almost as good a Wednesday, and both were work days. Most of five pages Tuesday, and four and a half Wednesday. I spent Friday driving my whole shift, so I had no free time to actually write. As I wrote Tuesday evening, I wrote some basic notes on how computers might work in the StarSea, as well as how I should map the StarSea (flat or three-dimensional?), how space combat should be handled (boarding actions or FASA Star Trek style?), weird features of the StarSea, including possible Ür artifacts, what StarSea ships might look like (ancient ships, or flying cathedrals and such, or both?), are some of the ideas I have necessary, or am I just adding in something like a kitchen sink? I wrote some textural descriptions of the weapons carried by the various knightly orders.

Last night, I got out some old notes and today I rewrote portions of them, but once I was done, I didn’t know where I was planning on going with them. After some thought, I realized that the exercise showed me that the empowered character types are going to be rare in the bigger picture, but that their powers place them in positions of power over the normals and martial character types. Which is fine, because I’ve seen the empowered as a sort of nobility anyway, so I can live with this.

Well, with my computer’s age making this take many times longer than it should have (memory issues causing the computer to bog down and need to be rebooted), it’s time for me to go so I can get to work in the morning. Laters.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on July 16, 2013, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

