Legends and Lore

Last week’s work was mostly on historical aspects of the StarSea. For example, “were dragons created by the Ür, or are they natural creatures?” I’ve decided they are natural, and I can foresee a number of conflict this will create, due to other questions I’m answering. These are questions like “where did the various races come from?” and “how many are uplifts of lesser creatures by the Ür?”

I’m also still trying to figure out what the actual nature of the Ür was, as I think it will shape their behavior. The more alien they are, the less empathy they have for “lesser races.” The less empathy, the more susceptible to Corruption the Ür become. And I’ll need this kind of info if I decide some of the Ür are still around…

This line of though leads me to think about humanity’s appearance in the StarSea. The original idea was that humans are newer to the StarSea, having come from elsewhere and migrated into the area. But what I’m now thinking is that this is a mistaken belief. Humanity has it’s origins in the StarSea, and some humans fled rather than be used by the Ür for their nefarious ends. They went off, studied magic, and came back to their legendary homelands to overthrow their oppressors. By then, so much time has passed that humanity has forgotten most of what they knew of the StarSea and it seems new to them. The humans that stayed behind have become the other races that are more common is such a setting, or various monsters. So, what each races knows has devolved from witnessed truth into distorted legend. I can write up these legends and have them available to players, while the truth is in the GM’s section of the books, like the stuff that used to be in the Deadlands books.

Well, that’s all I have to report, and my eyelids are getting heavy. Laters.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on August 6, 2013, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

