NaBloPoMo 2013 – Day 3

Yeah, I’ve been bad…

Yes, I’m trying to do Nation Blog Post Month again this year. I’m off to a horrible start. This week, I’ve been fighting a cold. That had me wiped out Thursday and Friday. It kept me from going out of town this weekend, but I went out with the kids for Trick-or-Treat. Pretty low impact stuff. I also didn’t work those days, which helped. When I did work this week, I was driving through most of my time, and didn’t get a lot of downtime I could devote to gaming thinking. Driving takes a fair amount of concentration, as there are a lot of idiots out there. Of course, now I’m up late obsessing over CardHunter, which my body will hate me for tomorrow.

Things I’ve thought about lately, in gaming…

First, I begin to see more and more why some people don’t like the tactical route modern D&D has taken. A common criticism I’ve heard is “you can’t role play with 4e.” I don’t believe that’s true, but I do see that the tactical aspects end up taking up more of a player’s brainpower and gets in the way of roleplaying, even just describing the actions of the round. I see this in myself and the other players at Living Forgotten Realms and I see it in my players in my home game.

I supported The Strange, the new Monte Cook Games Kickstarter. I like the looks of the setting, in some ways more than Numenera. I’ve always liked dimension hopping, so I’ll be very interested in how The Strange develops.

It regards to the StarSea, I’ve done a little thinking again about color schemes and ship aesthetics. I’m considering having ships look different depending on the faction that built them. I think I loose track of that now and then.

I think that’s good enough for a catch up post. I’ll be trying to post daily for the rest of the month. Weekends and Wednesdays will be most difficult, especially on the nights I run.

Wish me luck again this year. 🙂

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 3, 2013, in D&D 4e, NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good luck dude!

    RE: 4th Ed Roleplaying; I agree with your opinion there. It isn’t that “you can’t roleplay”, but that 4e doesn’t explicitly encourage roleplaying. Tactical combat is the main course and takes up nearly all of a player’s brainpower. The powers available and combat options are the vast majority of what the game is about. You actually have to go out of your way to pick RP-flavored powers and feats, in my opinion. Most often, by doing so, some (*cough* min-maxers *cough) say you “gimp” you character’s combat prowess too.

Leave a Reply

