NaBloPoMo Day 4 (WP Time)

Yeah, I’m basing my postings, timing wise, on WordPress time. It’ll actually be easier for me to be on time that way.

*****

Part of this month’s doings, I’m going to be doing more personal posts than last year. While I still have, even in my own mind, a lot of work to do on the StarSea, I’m not going to limit myself so much, as I really sometimes struggled last year to get through a month only commenting on the StarSea.

That said, my first comment will, at least in part, be about the StarSea. I find I do a lot of my best thinking while in the shower. J. Michael Straczynski, creator of Babylon 5, has commented on how he came up with the entire five year arc of B5 in the shower. There’s just something about a shower that opens the mind. I got to thinking about how I want the nonhuman species to be based in their worlds. Humans are an arboreal animal that migrated and adapted to life on the plains. While I don’t necessarily want to get that deep, I do want to know what societies each specie was developing a culture of their own before they were enslaved by the Ür. At that point, the species were forced together and their separate-ness ended, and single over-culture started developing. That will flavor each species’ personality, so I need that.

*****

Something else I’ve noticed in the past few weeks is related to my age. Most of the cars I drive have SiriusXM Radio available. When I’m outside the range of the local station I like, I listen to Channel 25, Classics Rewind. XM25’s tagline is “the Music of the Cassette Era.” They play late ’70s through to early ’90s music. I am officially to the age in which the music I grew up to is considered “Classics.” Yeah, now I know I’m officially “middle aged.”

*****

My cold is better today, despite myself. I was house-siting for the friends with whom I was supposed to go out of town. Their Internet connection is better than mine here at home. This was part of that CardHunter obsession I indulged yesterday. While playing, the computer apparently either overheated or had updates or just needed to change the time on the clock in relation to the time change. Whatever the cause, I couldn’t get the computer to restart. I felt really bad about that, to the point that after I left, I went back when I realized I should unplug it if it’s overheating (about halfway home, which is 13 miles from their place). I was so involved in the game that I played through the time change and left their place very early in the morning. My worry that I’d killed their computer (even though I gave it to them, after someone else had given it to me) gave me a guilt trip that had me awake all night, unable to sleep until after I spoke with them this afternoon. Then I napped through most of the afternoon. Now I’m feeling a bit better, but there’s still a bit of congestion in both my head and lungs, but not so much I think it will hamper me at work tomorrow.

*****

I think that’ll be it for today. I’ll find something else to ramble on about tomorrow evening.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 4, 2013, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

