NaBloPoMo 2013 Day 5

So, it’s entirely likely I’ll start a segment called…

Shower Thoughts

One of those thoughts was regarding the narratives of the differing factions, and using them to reveal the attitudes of one faction towards another. I started writing up one such narrative, but I never really got into any of the other factions.

I’m not sure why the idea that using narrative to describe things like this is newsworthy, but it was something I needed to wrap my head around.

Part of me still wants to make use of the idea of character roles from 4e in the StarSea. They’ve been part of gaming since the OD&D, and lots of the way we game today still owes homage to that idea. I’m just not sure what part they’ll play.

Currently, in my notes, I have been referring to characters who wield the Wyrd as “empowered.” That implies that those without that ability are “unempowered.” Part of me doesn’t like those definitions; they can be turned into a bigotry. That may not be a bad thing, as I’ve already had in mind the idea that some of the factions hold the empowered above the unempowered. However, I think I’d like a set of labels for the readers that aren’t so charged. I always liked Mage: The Ascension‘s word “willworker.” Appropriate words that popped into my mind were “wyrdworker,” and from recent issues of Green Lantern came “wyrdsmith/wyrdsmyth” (which I may reserve for artificers or enchanters), and “wyrdshapers.” To describe those who don’t have access to the Wyrd, I’m thinking “wyrd free” or “wyrdless.” Not sure I like either of those, but they’re a start.

Another thought was to potentially call the StarSea “WyrdSpace,” but I’ve been enamored with “StarSea” for a lot of years…

(Realized I can’t italicize words in quotes. Darn. Boldface it is.)

*****

We found a flyer for a house in Pismo in the chase vehicle today. (A chase vehicle, well, chases the other cars and transports the drivers either to locations to pick up cars or to pick up drivers once a car has been delivered.) It’s an older home that is built close on the seaside, had a guest house bigger than my home and an underground garage. It’s on 17 Mile Drive and only runs 22M USD. “I’ll just get out my checkbook,” I said, in jest.

*****

Right now I’m not bad, but every time I’d get into the chase after taking a car somewhere else, I’d start coughing. When I was alone, I was fine, and in the front seat of the chase I was okay. On the way home from our last trip, I realized why I was having problems: Suburbans have three temperature controls, one for the driver, one for the front seat passenger, and one for everyone else. The one for the back seats was turned up to 85*. I cough and hack more when I’m warm, and I was starting to sweat after sunset on that final trip. Well, duh…

*****

Started flipping through some of the last few Dragon Magazines that came out just before the release of 4e. I’m expecting to find inspirations that will resolve issues and such within the StarSea, or maybe create some new ones. I expect the latter will be more true than the former.

*****

Watched Prometheus, the Aliens prelude movie, Friday last. Not sure what I think of it, but I’d already had some ideas like a couple I saw presented there for the StarSea. It seemed like the first in a series of movies, but considering how badly it was panned by critics and fans, I doubt we’ll see more. But there are many unanswered questions in that movie, and while it’s been out for a while, I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t already seen it that might be reading.

*****

That’s all for tonight. Mañana.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 5, 2013, in D&D 4e, NaBloPoMo, Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

