NaBloPoMo 2013 Day 6

Not much today. Most of my shower thoughts were for my current 4e game this weekend’s session. I’ve been doing a lot of combat lately, mainly because the kids like combat. I think this week, we’re going to do a bit more story stuff. The kids have been going to bed early, just after the beginning of the combat, so I don’t feel I need to entertain them as much this week.

The game has five sessions to go, and I want to hit three or four more notes before the game is over. The final session will be Session 100, which will roll out at the first of next year, barring some circumstance which causes a delay of game. I was talking about this with a couple of our new LFR players last week. It’s been four years now since I started the campaign, just after my dad died. I’m ready for the story to end. A few years ago, I noticed that my games go best when they run about three years, so this campaign is now a bit long in the tooth. I’m ready for it to be over, but I’ve had too many games end without resolution (my Vampire and Mage games coming immediately to mind). I will have an end for this game, and not let it fade away this close to the end.

After that, we’ll be switching over to a 4e-based Moonshae Isles game. I’ve been working on my character already, as we’ve been bouncing around ideas. A couple of us have to settle on concepts, and our soon-to-be DM has said he’s already built at least one encounter. Of course, as any good GM knows, no plan survives first contact with the players. 🙂 I’m hoping for a good game. We’ll have to see how the kids handle Dad as a DM, though.

I’m looking forward to not being a DM, except the D&D for Kids that I run at the FLGS, at least for a while. Of course, I’ll be working on StarSea, but I won’t be under quite the obligations I am now. I do still want to run some of the RPGs I’ve been discussing here, to get a feel for those rules sets, and see how they fit my GMing style.

Back after we left the Camarilla, a number of us playtested a game called Gnostica. I plan on doing something similar with these other games to what we did during the playtest, which was to create characters, play them at base level, then increase levels some, run again, then do another increase and play again. I want to put these systems through their paces before I commit to running long term games with any of them. I know many of them have already been playtested before their publication, and some have large followings (like Savage Worlds), but that doesn’t mean they’ll work for me.

Well, as usual, I’ve said I didn’t have much to say, and I’m pushing 500 words. I was honestly pushing for 500 words, and some of this may be rambling, but I made my goal.

We’ll see how things go tomorrow.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 6, 2013, in D&D 4e, Metagaming, NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

