NaBloPoMo 2013 Day 20 (late)

FOUR DAYS WITHOUT WORK! Still no call to come into work, so now, for the pay period ending tomorrow, I have ONE day of pay. I can’t continue like this. I’m going to text my lead tomorrow to try to find out what the fuck is going on.

I’ve also clocked back my support of The Strange to only the PDF of the core rulebook. I can’t afford the $80 I had planned on, and have cut back to just $25. I can handle $25. That will allow me to keep my phone working and gas in the car. I’ll just have to buy the other PDFs and things later.

Ultimately, I need to find a new job and tell my current employer I’m done with them and their pathetic wages. The pay is fine for all the old retirees who I work with, but it’s not a living wage for anyone else. Even if I were working closer to 30 hours, it’s still not enough. Minimum wage is not a livable wage.

Thing is, my skills are a little out of date, and I’m certain my resumé doesn’t have the right “keywords” (AKA buzzwords, with a new, less buzzword-y name) to make it past the computer censors. I can’t really say I saved any company I worked for money, considering I’ve been laid off for monetary reasons from just about every job I’ve ever had since graduating college. That, or they were seasonal or temporary jobs. I’ve never been in a revenue generating position, as a production artist, so I can’t say I brought in business or anything like that.

The job market has become such a bullshit institution that I can’t really comprehend how anyone stays in business any more. Of course, my kind of jobs are now all off-shored. That’s how things continue: by paying people slave wages in Third World countries, rather than pay Americans a living wage. It’s not illegal, but by God it sure seems immoral.

And I played D&D tonight. Never took a hit but dealt out a reasonable amount of damage.

I was late because I did some stuff to distract me from the lack of work. Now I’m all pissed off again. I need to distract myself again so that I can maybe sleep. I’m really close to throwing this cold off, I think. Maybe I can distract myself again.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 21, 2013, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. sorry to hear about your struggles, CB. as for me, i’m still working for the devil (aka Walmart). lol

  2. sorry to hear about your struggles, CB. as for me, i still work for the devil (aka Walmart). lol

Leave a Reply

