NaBloPoMo 2013 Day 22 (very late)

No downtime at work. Pretty much literally. I even clocked in early, and got few moments in which I could sit and rest. And I’ve committed to working Sunday and getting in a few extra hours. Yay!

I did manage to get in some thinking about how I might use the Cypher system (Numenera/The Strange) to run the StarSea. It involved rethinking the 4e roles concept, which I recognize as something that’s always been present in D&D (it was part of 1e as the four core classes, of which all others were subclasses). I think that the Leader role may not be so much a group of “leaders” (with the except of the warlord), but a support and social group. Which leads me to thinking that maybe the Spinner type would be a good substitution, as they seem to be a very social character type. Then again, maybe not. I won’t know until I see more of the game.

Either way, I think the Cypher system might be extensible in ways that aren’t amazingly work intensive. I could be wrong on that, too. But I will be looking into it.

Other than that, I got treated to a showing of Thor: The Dark World. I have to say, don’t just stop at that first little clip at the end. Sit through all of the credits, like you did for The Avengers. There’s a second little laugh at the end.

Also, the battle scene at the beginning and the battle in Asgard are exactly what I want the StarSea to feel and look like in the players’ minds! The mix of tech and magic was perfect! (Notice how I used exclamation points! This is important! 🙂 ) Would you want to play that? I’d love to play in it and run it.

That’s all for now. I’ll try to pop something in tomorrow before my game.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 23, 2013, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

