NaBloPoMo 2013 Day 24 (very late)

As expected, I drove up to San Jose today for work. I had to bust my ass to get to work, as I set the alarm clock, but somehow missed turning it on. I was late getting out, but managed to get up, shower, get breakfast and get to work in 25 minutes. I may have taken most of the city’s speed limits as mild suggestions, though.

With what I saw today, I expect I’ll be going to SJ the next couple of days, and I wouldn’t be surprised if we also go up on Wednesday. There were a lot of cars at the SJ Airport, more than they can handle. Since our stores are always empty, it makes sense for us to go bring some back to the ‘No. Also, on the way back to Fresno, I was listening to the radio and Highway to Hell came on. The irony was not lost on me.

Since I drove chase, I really didn’t get any time to write, but I did do some thinking. Mainly on roles and types and such, and how they reflect certain ideas in games. Numenera uses an idea I also saw in True20, a reductionist version of 3.x. In that system, you had three types of characters: Warriors, Experts and spellcasters (I don’t remember the exact name, thus the lowercase). So, in True20, they basically lumped the healer and controller roles into one class. Defender and striker remained separate. Numenera essentially does the same thing, although the Jack character type is almost more of a Bard, as he can pick up esoteries (“wizard” powers) and some combat powers as well as mastering skills. It’s another path to consider as I look at game systems.

I also considered the five roll system that WWGS used in both Werewolf the Apocalypse and Exalted. Both games use the 1e “four core classes,” but add in a bard-like character type as a fifth group. In both cases, that fifth class was a very social-oriented class. This is another model to think about, especially in light of the idea that 4e leaders are also often social classes, as most of them can use Charisma as their primary stat.

That’s about all I have for tonight. I have to get up again tomorrow, which is nice.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 25, 2013, in Metagaming, NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

