Building the Heart of Darkness, part 1

I got to sit down and build the basic shape of the crystal, the Heart of the Abyss. I’ve stated to my players that it’s about 15 miles long, so this is just a tiny portion of it. Here’s my progress until this point.

100_4217

That image makes it look like it’s more cylindrical than it is. It actually tapers slightly to the top, about a half an inch on each side, I think. Tomorrow, provided I’m not working or get in before it gets too dark, I’ll be spray painting it black, preferably multiple times, to get both good coverage and to strengthen the cardstock.

If you’re interested in my pattern, I’m including it below.

Hexagonal Tower, 3%22 base

Some construction notes on my model: I would recommend doing each wall panel to another (but not closing them), then attaching them to the top, and then attaching the bottom. I scored all the folds first, and I folded in the bottom tabs in, clipped them both, then inserted the base and glued it. You might want to glue some of the top and base on first (like four of the six) so you can get a solid connection, then glue down the final tabs. I did mine by gluing a couple of wall panels to the top, then to each other, then to the bottom. I actually had to reprint the page because two of my wall panels somehow got stuck together (likely something on the table) and essentially destroyed. While I waited for the printing, I glued the four wall panels and top and bottom I had together, then completed the model.

Note, it’s not really an original model. It’s based heavily on this item: Leo Hartas’ Guard Tower. Basically, I used his template to create a similar tower, and then for this model reduced it 70%. Go buy his for a challenge. It’s very cool (I bought it myself years ago, along with the tank).

That’s all for today. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on December 3, 2013, in Metagaming. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

