Building the Heart of Darkness, Final!

Wow! I was really expecting that paint job to take a while, but I was quite happy to have it completed quickly.

My idea was sourced in two descriptions, one being the description in the module I’m pilfering from, one is that of the Abyssal Plague, which WotC completely dropped the ball on. It was their feeble attempt to link the 4e universes, and they put out a handful of books and articles, and had a couple of encounters in one of the D&D Encounters adventures, and they let it go. However, it fit very well into my campaign concept, so I ran with it. The Heart of the Abyss, I’ve decided, is the source of the Voidharrow, and is also Tharzidun’s prison (yeah, I know it’s supposed to be Tharizdun, but I find “Tharzidun” rolls off the tongue a little better). The Abyssal Plague was described as creating red crystals with gold flecks and silver streaks. The Heart of the Abyss is described as a red crystal that might be the shard of a dead universe, one destroyed by the obyriths. I combined the two descriptions for my model.

I did some quick and simple shading with some darker shades of red, then painted on some dead worlds in the depths of the crystal in shades of brown. Next, I gave it a wash of red ink, to mute the colors of the dead worlds and tie every thing together. My fourth step was to paint on the gold flecks and silver streaks. I did the silver to look a little like marbling. Finally, I added some white highlights along the edges  and corners of the model to represent the sharp highlights of gems.

Here’s some images of the final result.

100_4223 100_4222 100_4221 100_4220

I was going to matte coat it, but the ink adds a nice glossiness that I don’t want to loose with the seal. Until I use it, it’s in a plastic box that should protect it nicely.

That’s all for tonight. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on December 4, 2013, in D&D 4e, Metagaming. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

