Hectic

That describes this week: hectic. I’ve been working, and I’ve got some writing to share, but home life has been … hectic. and a lot of it is my own creation. You know that guy in the daily comic, B.C., the one with the glasses? His name is Klutzy Karp. That could easily be my name. Tonight, about 9PM, I knocked over a shelf with some of my forgotten mini painting projects while digging something else out of my closet, which needs to be cleaned anyway. I spent the last couple of hours cleaning that mess up and re-organizing those projects.

Monday this week, before we went to sign the last of my Dad’s probate papers, including the one that will enable me to put the car into my name first of the year and reduce my insurance fees, I finally got my car in for an oil change, about two weeks late, delayed in part by tiny paychecks.

Tuesday, coming home from work, my “check engine” light came on.

Yesterday morning, my remote starter wouldn’t, but the car would start with me in it. I sweat bullets for a few minutes, thinking my car might be dead.

Couldn’t do anything about that until this morning, and the oil changers said, “Wasn’t us!” and then proved it. Their diagnostic device wouldn’t communicate to the computer in my car. They suggested a hard reboot of my computer (i.e. disconnect the battery for a few seconds) and see if the reset would clear things. It cleared the “check engine” light, but it still won’t start by remote. I’m hoping that picks up after the car’s been driven a while, because it’s damned convenient, especially in more extreme weather (or what passes for such here in the ‘No).

So, I’ve done some thinking and writing about what general powers the different factions in the StarSea should have, and what they allow the knights of those orders to do. Still on the fence about how to treat those who want to play without magic on their character. Are the Martials an order? what special abilities do they have, etc.?

Got to digging into FATE Core again, after being distracted by Numenera. Having to review what I read so I can remember what the terms mean and how the rules function and act as foundation for other rules. I’ll have to do the same with Savage Worlds when I get back to that.

Finally came to the conclusion that I’ll never figure out what kind of game I want to build for until I figure out what I want the game to do. Need to get the cart and the horse in the right orders.

Got to looking tonight again (before the big spill) at the version of Chainmail that came out around the time of 3.0, and became the D&D Miniature Skirmish Game (at least, that’s what I think it was called). In fact, I developed some of the stuff I have in this setting for that game. It’s an extremely simplified version of D&D 3.0, and I liked that simplicity. I had created some conversions of the characters in the campaign I was running at the time. Only real problem I have with it is the pseudo-Vancian Magic system it uses, which is a slimmed down version of the Vancian Magic D&D has been using for a while. I’ve mentioned before I don’t like Vancian Magic. This is less egregious, but it’s not what I want. I want an even more simplistic magic system.

That’s about all I have time to report. Working and socializing tomorrow.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on December 13, 2013, in Metagaming, Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

