Tech – what a pain in the butt

So, the car is still an issue. It seems the computer is regularly disconnecting from the rest of the car or something. I drove quite a bit Friday before the engine light came on, and after resetting it again Saturday morning, it lasted nearly 40 miles (to the Smalls from my place, back and forth downtown from their place, and home again) before the engine light came on again. The car runs fine otherwise, so I assume there is something loose or just glitching. It’s due for it’s 50K mile service soon, so I guess combine the two, spend the last 2K$ of my inheritance, I’ll get both taken care of and out of my hair.

I also inherited the Girl’s now superseded Kindle yesterday. It’s the e-reader only version. One of the cool things about this is I can now take some books along with me (especially the Kindle versions of FATE Core and supplements) and read them while riding and not get asked a lot of questions. (Yes, I’m one of the lucky ones that can read while riding in a car, so long as I’m not in the mountains. I get motion sick if I read in the mountains, but not on flat roads.) My biggest issue is that so many of the books I’ve acquired have been freebies from other websites that I’m having to add them to the Kindle by wire and sort them later. I’m going to try to get the Kobold Guide to World Building for Kindle after Christmas, one way or another. I’m still planning on picking up an iPad mini someday, but this will do for now.

My cough has come back. Not sure which contributing factor is the ultimate cause. A car I rode in Friday was found to have a partially smoked cigarette in it, and I was in the car for about a half an hour. I’m allergic to cigarette smoke, but I have no real sense of smell, so I couldn’t detect it any other way than getting congested. It could be not getting as much sleep as I probably should (a couple of late nights before early mornings). Or it could be the soup we call air here in the ‘No is getting to me. We’re in that lovely “Unhealthy” band as we’ve had no appreciable rain this fall, and may not get any for a while. The weather guys are saying maybe next Thursday, but who really knows. So, I’m back to drinking the knock-off DayQuil (which seems to work better for me that the brand name stuff) regularly. Ugh.

Did some Christmas shopping today. Who decided purple and turquoise were Christmas colors? They look fine for New Year’s Eve, but not for Christmas. Of course, that’s just one man’s opinion. But this is my blog, and I hold said opinion, so screw it. It’s ugly and I don’t like it. There; I said it. 🙂

That’s about all I have to report right now. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on December 16, 2013, in Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

