It’s That Time, Again!

Honestly, it gets difficult coming up with titles for these things.

Anyway, here’s some talk about gaming!

Yesterday, we started playing the game I created for the Boy. I need to fill in some details, like encounter tables (i.e. what dangerous or cool things will the various civilizations encounter while exploring their space), and I need to tweak the resource acquisition rolls, as I don’t think they produce enough versus the costs of things. I’m basically using the tech trees and units from WarCraft III to simplify my thinking, so I don’t have to devote so much time on the design of this game. Why reinvent the wheel, especially when I don’t know how long the Boy’s interest will hold? He did want to do more and more turns, so we ended up playing five turns (between me looking up things and trying to determine costs for new units and such off the cuff, and running three other civilizations). He wanted more, so I may have something that will satisfy him for a while. This week, I’ll try to get some of my notes better integrated and complete some of my tweaks and charts so we can hit the ground running next weekend.

I got back to writing in the car while traveling this week. I discovered that I hadn’t written anything in my notebooks since early December, though. I think being sick affected things, as did getting a Kindle and focusing so much on reading FATE. I did write a little on races the past couple of days, as that was on my mind, and I’ve got a couple of sketches that I think will lead me to some decisions down the line. I’m going to continue this trend going forward, and write a page every work day before I read anything from the Kindle.

My current reading has been The Kobold Guide to World-Building. I’m pleased from my reading to discover that I’m pretty much ahead of the ball so far. There’s a little in the realm of business and marketing that was unknown to me, but the basics of world-building are something I seem to have a firm hold on at this point.

Something else I’ve realized I need to do is start transcribing my hand notes. After that long break, I had forgotten some of the decisions I’d made and dangling ideas I needed to work on. I think I can make them into a simple .mobi file with Calibre, which would allow me to reference them more easily than carrying around 4 notepads.

Well, I’ve spent most of the past hour trying to deal with memory problems with this laptop, so I’m going to call it for tonight. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 10, 2014, in Metagaming. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

