Progress, Slow But Sure

So, I decided to basically re-read the Kobold Guide to World Building and doing my note-taking outside of work, and made some good progress. Of course, I’ve also found some areas that need some fine tuning. For example, I’ve been defining what magic is, in and of itself, but that’s led to a couple of questions. I’ve defined magic as a psycho-responsive energy, but it can be used as a power source for vehicles and other equipment in the universe I’m developing. How do these two ideas relate? Do engines and batteries emulate sentient minds, thus being more like computers than anything else? I’m still trying to reconcile these two ends of the spectrum into a cohesive whole. I may not need to, but I don’t want to hand-wave too many details.

I also started on a starmap. So far it’s just a hex map with a galaxy overlay, but it’s a start. It gives me a way to get the regularity to the planets’ spacing that I want (to represent the manipulation the Ür did of the world in the StarSea) as well ideas about density of the worlds within. One of the earlier iterations of the StarSea was called “the Twenty Spheres” (the spheres part referencing the crystal spheres of Spelljammer, which I was stealing from at that time), which is in my mind as I think on the setting. However, I recognize the value of having some portions of the map undefined, to allow players to fill in the details or develop their own stories. It’s a start.

Finally, the Boy and I finally played a little more of the game I’m cobbling together for him. We dealt with his first combat, and I have to say, while it worked for a one-on-one combat, I didn’t like the feel, and I don’t think it would work well with larger groups. The system I developed has each unit having a factor of 5 hit points (5, 10, 15, etc., …), and having a number of six-sided dice for melee and ranged combat. Roll the dice, do damage to hit points, after subtracting armor. The problem that I have is that tracking a large number of hit points for a large number of units might be a time sink later. I think I’ll be lifting more of the Warmaster combat system, which is a simplified version of the Warhammer Fantasy Battle system.

I also need to come up with a more complete tech tree for each of four races, encounter charts for the explorable regions, and the great enemies in the center of the map. I’m going to be stealing a lot from WarCraft III for all of this. Although the Boy through a wrench in some of my ideas when he decided his elves would be spider riders. “What, are your elves drow?” I said to him. “No, like The Hobbit,” says he. So he wants his elves to be a little like the Mirkwood elves of The Desolation of Smaug. My plan had been for the insectoid portion of the Scourge become the Big Bads of our game. Back to the drawing board on that one, I guess.

So, that’s it for now. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 25, 2014, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

