Again, I haven’t netfaded…

The past couple of weeks have had their ups and downs. After my last real post on February 25th, I found myself distracted, both by real life and just a variety of things. Car issues, family issues, handyman duties, etc., all found a way to draw me away from focusing on other things, like reading, writing and being creative.

I managed to finish the Kobold Guide to World Building, but the last article was a bear, as I’m not especially interested in licensed work (AKA playing in other people’s sandbox) right now, so I found the article a little boring. But there were definitely other articles that garnered my attention, such as the articles on organization building and bible creation. Sound articles with lots of good ideas and methodologies.

Last week, I got the FATE Freeport Companion, and read the crunchy bits, only skimming the rest as I’m neither a Lovecraft nor a pirate fan. For all of that, it has pretty well solidified my decision to use FATE to run the StarSea. I generally liked the d20-to-FATE “conversion”, so much that I think it will shape at least some amount of what I create for the StarSea. There are parts I’m not a fan of, such as the D&D attributes as the skill base, or the way weapons and armor are stated, but I can see reasons to do both, especially the Six Stats as Skills for my game. It gives players who are more familiar to D&D a base of understanding for their game. I think the weapons and armor rules were an attempt at simplifying similar rules presented in the FATE Core Toolkit. But these are more bugaboos for me, and I’ll be taking their intent into account as I do my own writing.

Some of my thoughts on magic are needing to be rethought, as some of my reading pointed out an internal inconsistency I want to resolve. It’s nature versus it’s use are presently a bit at odds, so I need to take some time to tinker with things to resolve the issue.

I haven’t done any work on the “galactic” map since I created it. It’s been percolating in the back of my mind as I’ve been looking at images of the Milky Way Galaxy (or Earth’s viewpoint of it). It’s very much in the air right now, so I’m not particularly worried about details right now.

Friends and I watched Thor: The Dark World again last week, and I was reminded about how much I liked the battle scenes in Asgard, and how I want it to be able to point to those scenes as examples of play. It also helped me resolve an issue; part of me as thinking I needed fighter ships, like X-Wings. Nope, that part can be played by “skiffs” with weapons.

The Boy hasn’t pushed on the Warcraft rip-off I was doing, but we did download the WCIII Demo so he could get a feel for it. However, because he hasn’t pushed on it, I haven’t really done any work on it, except making a list of monsters to serve as “creeps”, as WCIII calls them (“wandering monsters” to us Old Timers). I plan on dividing them up into rings, so that some of the critters make more sense around the center of the map, where my Most Evil Enemy lies in wait. They’ll essentially be a 5th army that the Boy will have to face, which will be easier if he makes as many allies as he can before he faces them.

Well, my eyes now feel like gritty little balls again, so I think I’m going to call it a night. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on March 14, 2014, in Metagaming, Movies and Television, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

