Cosmos and Hyposmia

Completely unrelated to the usual subject of my blog this week is something I’ve thought about a couple of times in the last few weeks.

Watching Cosmos (A Space Odyssey) last night, I was impacted by the discussion of the sense of smell. Mainly because I don’t really have one. I would guess, from reading up on Wikipedia, that I’m not actually Anosmic (no sense of smell), but probably Hyposmic (having a diminished sense of smell). Yeah, I know you shouldn’t diagnose yourself, but this is an issue I’ve had as long as I can remember, so I think I’m safe here.

When I was eight, we got into an accident. This was in the days before mandatory seat belts. My brother and I were both ejected from the vehicle, but we both survived. However, I did hit my head (go fig), which is one of the causes of hyposmia. I don’t remember sensing odors after that (I don’t really remember smelling things before that, either). At least, I don’t remember pleasant ones. I can remember noting the smell of my first kiss’s breath (her breath was very clean smelling), and I can smell bad breath, flatulence, and body odor. However, I couldn’t smell the gas leak in my car a few weeks ago. I can’t smell old cigarette odors (part of how i got sick again this winter), or flowers. Trying to describe an odor to me is like trying to describe a color to a blind person. I have no references. Sodas and foods have different flavors for me, so I know I have some sense of smell, but not a strong one.

A few weeks ago, someone was talking about smelling lilacs, and I couldn’t smell them. I got jealous of the people I was with. I don’t get flashes of memory when an odor wafts by, because I can’t smell it. It makes me somewhat jealous of the rest of you who can. My memory is pretty much entirely visual, with some auditory (like song lyrics). Women’s perfume does nothing for me.

On the other hand, because I’ve never had a sense of smell (as far as I can remember), I don’t miss it, most of the time. However, on occasions when it’s discussed by others (like recently), I do. I wonder what it’s like. Something I’ll never know.


 

I was looking for an ethernet cable in some shelves I’ve got, and I found an old journal I started in high school. I haven’t taken the time to look at it yet, but I’m interested in giving it a peek. I know I have some stuff on a very Moorcock-derivative setting in there, but what else is there? I don’t remember any more. Hopefully, I’ll make time to take a look tonight.


 

I did get some writing in on the StarSea. After some comments on my Facebook, I started thinking about space obstacles and such, as well as starting to timeline who the Ür met first. That led to my rethinking who is what (that is, what the origins of some of my species are). The Starborn are probably going to become dragonkin, and the dragonkin are going to become half-Ür, or something like that. Humans are pretty much already set as the most likely species to have met the Ür first, as I’ve already had the idea that the Ür manipulated the spaces of humans to create the giant races. They’ll probably be manipulated in other ways as well.


 

I think that’s all for tonight.It’s late and I want to get out and watch the Lunar Eclipse. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on April 15, 2014, in Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

