Stuck in the Mud…

That’s where I’ve been for the past couple of weeks. Stuck in the mud. I’ve let some StarSea stuff ramble around my head, and I actually recorded some of it, but right now, I’ll be damned if I can remember any of it.

I delayed getting my iPad until this coming weekend. Last Monday, I cleaned out the interior of my car. While doing that, my car’s computer glitched and decided it needed to turn my “Check Engine” light on, forcing me to reset the computer. I’ve now driven the car for a week and the light hasn’t come back on, so I think it’s okay, but I wanted to take some time to be sure. With my dumb luck, I expected it to be worse, and that I’d need the money for repairs. Hasn’t been a problems since, so this week, I’m picking that iPad up.

And now I remember what I wrote about. So, I did a little thinking about the StarSea-ships, how they move through the StarSea (that is, what’s the medium, if there is any), and how do the engines work and what effect does that have on the economy. I’ve commented before that wyrdtechnology is strongly connected to crystals. My original idea was that the engines are huge, single crystals. But in thinking of that, I came to the conclusion that single massive crystals would be next to impossible to find, just like they would be on Earth.While I have no issue with the crystals being rare and therefore having value (plotpoint, anyone?), but large stones that are impossible to find would limit the numbers of ships wandering from world to world, which I don’t necessarily want. So, engines have become matrices of stones, as is most of the other technology aboard the ships and vehicles.

As I mentioned, I also got to thinking about the idea how ships travel throughout the StarSea. While I haven’t got the exact mechanism, the ships’ engines will drive them through Ether. I’ve had Ether in my notes since I first started brainstorming this idea a few years ago, and now I have a reason for Ether to exist. Ether is the interworldly (yeah, I just made that one up) gas that gives me nebulae and the empty gulfs that can serve as obstacles that force travel in different directions. How the engines move ships through the Ether, that I haven’t gotten to just yet. I don’t really want corkscrews or propellers. I’m currently envisioning glowing thrusters on the backs of ships, but as they stand, thrusters don’t necessarily need a medium, so I feel a different explanation is needed.

Outside of that, I’ve read the second and third books of the Chronicles of the Runestaff, and started the fourth. The third part is almost a distraction from the main story, which the author seems to realize about eighty percent of the way through the book. I’ve also played a bit of Card Hunter as well. I’m enjoying the direction the metaplot is taking, with the developments between Gary, Melvin and Karen being as entertaining to me as the game itself. I could probably make a post just on CH. Maybe sometime I will.

That’s about all I have for now. Maybe next week I’ll be posting from a new iPad. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on May 13, 2014, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

