Funny What You Learn…

So, last Thursday, I started going through my old posts here on the blog. I simply used my tag-link, and I re-read those posts as I cut-and-pasted the material I needed into a new file. As I read, I came to a realization: I’ve made the same decisions repeatedly. Covered the same ground multiple times.

That I haven’t got a master file for my thoughts and notes, but have been keeping note tablets that don’t include what’s here means I’ve been thinking and writing in circles. And that’s got to end or I’ll never get this done.

So, I exported my outline to a format the apps on my tablet can read, and I’m going to focus less on creating for a while, and more on retyping my notes, so that they’re in digital format, so I can start incorporating them into my outline, and transforming that into a manuscript.

Hopefully, a consolidated file will help me focus a bit more and stop going around in circles. I’d rather report progress than to keep reporting the same things every three months.


I’ve also been poking around at Pinterest and DeviantArt again. I can loose a lot of time there, as well as my own swipe files. And my swipe files only grow as I look at those sorts of sites. Aye-yi-yi.


I’ve also found a number of interesting articles on the FATE game system that is helping me to see how the system can work, and how to GM it. Included in those articles were examples of scenes from famous movies described in game terms. I’ve also found a couple of articles that have pointed me towards the Diaspora SRD for space travel and some elements of science fiction I’m thinking should be present in the StarSea.


I’ve also encountered some reviews of the 5e products available so far by folks who were fans of 4e, and God help me, they make the rules sound interesting. I still really want to hate the game…


Really, that’s all for this week. I’m working tomorrow, and I have Living Forgotten Realms tomorrow night, and I need to get some thing ready for both. Later.

 

 

 

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on July 16, 2014, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

