Busy Week

I’m really just posting to fulfill my obligation to myself. I want to post weekly. I’m just having problems doing it.

Partially, that’s my ADHD getting in the way. I let myself be distracted, and I really have no choice in the matter. My brain too freely jumps from subject to subject, so if I’m asked to do something, I have a lot of trouble saying “no.” If I find something to distract myself, I follow that, instead of remaining focused on what should be my priority. I’ve really been fighting that one today. I’ve needed to contact someone to do some handyman work for my aunt (who was here most of last week, creating an entirely different set of distractions), which I forgot about almost as soon as I was asked to do it. I need to make some decisions about D&D for Kids by this weekend, which I really should have given more thought after that last game.

And then there is my job. I worked three days last week, which was surprising, as it was after a three-day-weekend. And I was busy all day every day. While I like the paycheck, that cuts back on the time I have for projects that don’t immediately pay.


A couple of weeks ago, I purchased a Adonit Jot Pro stylus for my tablet, and I’ve been experimenting with it. It works well enough with ProCreate, but there is a little bit of a curve, more in relation to the app than the tool. At some point, I’m hoping to have some art up.


I also picked up a physical copy of Diaspora, a Fate-based Hard Sci-Fi RPG. I had downloaded the SRD, but I wanted the physical copy, as I want to support the company, and I find paper books better reading before bed. It’s been giving me some ideas, although those ideas are more in contrast to Diaspora, as the themes are different. However, what I’m really hoping to dig into is the “mini-games,” which detail handling ship combat and army-scale combat, which I expect to add into the StarSea. I want to see how they use the Fate rules to accomplish this, and then either adapt their rules or make my own.

I plan to pick up a copy of the new version of Mindjammer this weekend, pretty much for the same reasons.


I think that’s all I’m going to take time to write at this point. It’s more than I expected to spill out, which is always a pleasant surprise.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on September 9, 2014, in Metagaming, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

