OOPS! Time off, Weeks Two and Three

So, last time I was commenting on my car being in for service (as that was when I did the bulk of the writing). Part of ADHD is being… forgetful. It’s more like you’re constantly distracted. There’s always a “Squirrel!” moment in the offing, and reminders are a big help. I have a reminder on both my iPad and my laptop, but both got shut off for whatever reason (my lack of response on the iPad, my clumsy response on the laptop). Soon, work and distractions caused me to end up delayed until I simply decided to put the entire post off.

Since then… well, let’s see…

Most days I’ve worked have been 10 hour days, followed by nights falling asleep in my armchair. I think a lot of people don’t realize how exhausting driving all day can be. Especially when you’re the chase driver, the guy who follows and picks up everyone once they get the car to where it’s supposed to be. The Chase drives all day, unless they trade off with someone else, and usually, we don’t do that.

On October 2nd, I went by a bookstore owned by an old Ren Faire friend. I walked out with quite a load of books, that you can see below.

Book Nook Haul

About half those books are replacements or books specifically purchased to suck up the wear and tear for re-readings. The Corum book is a replacement for my old paperback, which has been through sufficient exposure that the pages and spine are so stiff, I’m afraid to open it up and have it start falling apart.

I’ve been reading The Dragon in the Sword, a Moorcock book about John Daker/Erekosë that I had never seen before, even though it was written in 1986. So far, it’s been entertaining, if a little slow. I’m looking forward to reading The Star Wars, which is based on Lucas’ original script for Star Wars: A New Hope. I bought the final book, A Natural History of Dragons for the artwork therein. I’m a fan of Todd Lockwood, and he did the cover as well as the interior pieces. I’ll likely start only reading the first chapter, as the back cover doesn’t inspire me much.

Last weekend, I had a little scare with my car after going to see a friend from The Camarilla. As I was leaving, I was speaking with another old friend and remote started the car a couple of times while we talked. Once I finally got in, my “Check Engine” light came on. There was nothing I could do about it, but I couldn’t hear any unusual noises as it ran, so I carried on. The only thing I noticed was that the remote was acting strangely, not locking or starting the car correctly. After a couple of other stops though, the remote started acting normally, and the engine light went out. Seems like some kind of intermittent error created by using the remote so often.

This week has been more of the same, with very little work on the StarSea. I’ve had random thoughts about rules and such here and there, and a couple of brief thoughts on how the world works, but little else. In fact, more of my time right now has been spent re-jiggering my new LFR character than the StarSea. I’ve got my items picked, and I went through and tweaked some powers and feats for efficiency, and selected all my rituals that I think are appropriate for the character. And today, I got together the pieces for my mini, a little bit of a kit-bash based on some WFB High Elves.

Well, it’s getting late, and I need to be to work in the morning, so I need to wrap this up. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

