Another skipped week

This time, I can’t say “oops!” I can only say I’ve been busy with work and it’s repercussions. As I mentioned last time, I’m exhausted most days and I fall asleep early. This is my work life right now.

For all that, I finally managed to get the fifteen pages of text I’d written in a notepad in August of last year retyped. I was on a tear that day. But like the work issues, I’ve mentioned that before.

I went back to my Living Forgotten Realms game the Wednesday after that last post. This new character works much better. My Hit/Miss ratio is much better, and I have a lot of interesting uses for my character’s powers, as bards are quite control oriented in 4e.

I’ve been reading a lot of articles on Fate, as well as finding some really nice play aids. I’ll have to rebuild them specifically for StarSea, but I can live with that. I used to do a lot of that sort of thing, but as time has gone by, I’ve done less and less. That so much of what we all used to do with character sheets and such has become online tools, etc., has left my skills in those arenas a little rusty.

I’ve also done some thinking on my history. As I’ve been doing that retyping, I’m coming to the conclusion that some of my history has some bugaboos in it that I really want to eliminate. Decisions I’m looking back on, especially in light of some of the other decisions I’ve made since, aren’t working for me any more. Just a little shoring up is needed.

I’ve also been giving the biology of the dragons some thought, and I think I’m going a route other than reptilian. Part of the reason is I’m looking for a twist on the traditional monster. Part of it is that I don’t necessarily want reptilian elves. Scales (as in skin covering) are likely going to stay part of the creatures, as there is a scaled mammal on Earth (the pangolin). And while I like the idea of four limbs and wings, I’m also toying with four limbs, including wings. Again, the battle between science and fantasy rages in my thinking.

This will be all for this go ’round. I’m struggling to stay focused. And focus is something I need, or I’ll let this project die. I’m trying to use the blog to keep me honest, and focused on completing this world, rather than ending up with another notebook full of stuff I didn’t complete, but that succumbed to my ADHD. Thanks for reading and helping with that. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on October 28, 2014, in D&D 4e, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

