NaBloPoMo 2014 – Entry 2 – Boy talk

I’ve been feeling better today. I’m hoping that carries through to tomorrow. Fortunately, I’ll be working in town, close to a bathroom if not.


 

So, before the tricks and treats, I stopped by the FLGS and found a used copy of Pandemic, a game I’ve wanted since I saw it on Wil Wheaton’s netshow, TableTop. As I look at things, it was only 25% off, but the deal is done. I look forward to playing it soon with the kids.


And speaking of the kids, that’s why tonight’s post if subtitled as it is. I had reason to call the Smalls yesterday, to let them know I wasn’t going to be by, as is my wont. The Boy answered the phone, and I talked with him a few minutes. I discovered today he called me a couple of times later, because of a misunderstanding. So I called back today to follow up. He’s finally getting to the age at which he can hold a conversation over the phone. Both he and his sister have had problems with that, which seems to be a common thing with kids. They seem uncertain how to use the phone to communicate, leaving long pauses between statements, when they say anything at all. These past couple of days, he’s handled the phone pretty well. Another step on the road to maturity.


I had commented to him on something I saw last game night that showed similar growth and maturity. The incident in question was when he somehow managed to pull the silicon nib off a tablet stylus of his dad’s. Dad scolded him, and took the stylus back. I could see he was upset and wanted to cry, but he pressed his lips together and kept his emotions under control. He looked like he wanted to fix the problem, but knew he couldn’t.

The Boy has been one quick to cry, so this was a big deal to me. I realized he’d taken a big step. He’d always cried because he was powerless, or thought he was. He’s moved from powerless child to wanting to be a powerful teenager.


At the County Fair this year, I purchased a Rare Earth magnet-based thing for hanging your glasses on your shirt. It cost me $10. I had it on a couple of weeks ago at the game store, on one of their shirts. After that evening, I believe I took it off and put it somewhere I’d remember it. Now I can’t remember where I put it. And I can’t remember where I put the packaging so I can even give you a link so you know how the thing works or what it looks like. One of those things that will itch my brain for a while.


That’s about it for tonight. More tomorrow. Later.

 

 

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 3, 2014, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

