NaBloPoMo 2014 – Entry 7 – Wasted Day

So, again late, again little to report.

I still have my copy of the Changeling the Dreaming LARP book out, and I’m again thinking about how the difficulty system could work with Fate. I think it could, and offer a simpler method for handling certain effects. Basically, CtD used a “linguistic” spell system, in which all spells have a “noun” (what’s affected) and a “verb” (the effect one is trying to achieve). In CtD, they are called Arts (the verbs) and Realms (the nouns). If your rating in Realms isn’t high enough, you can’t affect what you are trying to affect. What I’m thinking of using it for is the difficulty for Area Effect spells and attacks against large groups. Again, I need to re-examine how the groups-in-combat rules work to see what’s more effective and how balance is effected.

However, most of today was spent sleeping. After my late night last night, I had to get to early and go to work to sign my time card (a practice I wish we could get away from). Then I came home and crashed until late. Spent a few hours catching up on two days of Facebook, and went out with the Family Small.

The lot of us are now friends on Facebook now with an old friend who moved up to Seattle years ago. This is a good thing, and I’m happy we’ve got a reconnection.

But that’s about it for tonight. Tomorrow, I take our DM to the Airport for his trip to Seattle, where he’ll see our long lost friend, and then who knows what for me. The rest of the Family Small will be at the season closing Ren Faire, but I won’t make that until Sunday. So, there’s your preview of the next couple of posts. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 8, 2014, in Metagaming, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

