NaBloPoMo 2014 – Entry 13 – Stuff That’s Accumulated

Here’s some stuff that’s popped up on my radar in the past few days that I’ve wanted to write about, but exhaustion has interrupted.


 

I have a friend who has a podcast, The Satyrsphere. He turned me onto this new podcast, Welcome to Night Vale. This quirky little podcast is about the strange doings in the mythic village of Night Vale, which I’m certain is over the hill from Roswell. I’ve only listened to the first episode, but I’m already subscribed. It’s updated twice a month (I think), and episodes are short (only about 20 minutes each). Some of the content is kind of silly, but other bits are creepy and downright chilling. I think an Urban Fantasy or Modern Horror GM could mine this series for campaign material for a long time, even though it has no connection to gaming. I’d recommend it to all my readers.


For Veteran’s Day, I took the Kids to Big Hero 6. I read the original comics the movie is based on, and even though the movie plot line strays quite a bit from those comics, I found the movie enjoyable, if somewhat “kiddie-fied.” Disney seems to be more and more incorporating the Pixar style in to their films, which I don’t consider a Bad Thing. The animation style was very clean and enjoyable, the lighting was solid and realistic when outdoors in sunlight, which is something I enjoy. There were a number of little cool Easter Eggs for the comic book fans. Lots of good stuff in this movie. I’d definitely recommend it.

This weekend, I plan on quizzing the Kids a bit on some of the actions of the characters. The main character, Hiro, does something really morally questionable, and I want to get the Kids’ reactions and thoughts on that.


In gaming news, I found this announcement interesting but…

Announcing the Cypher System Rulebook

Unfortunately, my slow turn away from the twenty-sided die is making me look at this and feel sad, as I don’t think I’ll ever pick it up. The “twenty-sided die” issue is one for a post of its own, so I won’t get into it now, but it’s become a big factor in my lack of interest in many games now. Maybe next week I’ll take the time to write-up a more thorough treatment on that.


Last but not least tonight is the Vow of Honor Kickstarter. This one looks very interesting, especially in comparison to the StarSea. I’m not quite sure why this needs to be a sci-fi setting as opposed to a fantasy setting. I’m kinda thinking they may be trying to cash in on the motions I think I’m seeing towards the “looks like one genre, but is really another” wagon I see growing since the release of Numenera, by the aforementioned Monte Cook Games. I’ve been seeing this pop up in a few other settings recently, and I have to admit, there’s a heaping helping of that in the StarSea. It’s not really a bad thing, but to me, it’s becoming noticeable as a sort of meta-genre in the gaming industry. I’ll likely support it, but I do want to read through the quickstart rules that are available from the Kickstarter site.


Well, I’ve now run out of things to talk about today. Later.

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 14, 2014, in Metagaming, NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

