NaBloPoMo 2014 – Entry 16 – Too Many Files

For a while this morning, I fell into some of the files on my old desktop computer. In the days before Pinterest, if you liked an image, you saved it to your hard drive. I have mountains of such images, and I find more all the time. I was looking for old music files, and I stumbled onto my graphics directory, and got lost for at least an hour. The images on that machine are all very old, in the ball park of seven years (before I got this laptop I’m working with now). Still, it was fun to look through them and see what I was interested in then, and how much I am still interested in now.


Earlier this week, I think I might have mentioned picking up an ebook called Aether Sea, a worldbook for Fate that has a lot of similarities to my own StarSea. I’ve only managed to read a little bit so far. Setting-wise, I’m not very interested. There is a monolithic government, from what little I can remember (I was reading it while riding at work, which made me fall asleep). My thought has been that this setting may be lacking in conflict, but I have to admit, I wasn’t as focused as I wanted to be. I’ll need to give it another try soon. I’ve found some interesting commentary on the magic system, so my interest is even more piqued to look into that.


Otherwise, I still find myself wanting to dig into that “20-sided die” issue article. I might try drafting something on the tablet this week while I have downtime. It’s making my brain itch, because I’m wondering if there really is anyway around my issues. I’m just not so sure the new “Bounded Accuracy” is really effective as a control.


Work comes early tomorrow, so I’m out of time. I’ve been trying to get The Dragon In The Sword done and out of my hair, and I need reading time to do that. So, I’ll have more tomorrow. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 17, 2014, in Metagaming, NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

