NaBloPoMo 2014 – Entry 19 – Blech!

Work was one of those days that my job (all too) frequently gives me: one in which there is a long time spent waiting in the middle of the day expecting to be sent home followed by sufficient work to end up with overtime. We get sent home early with a regularity I don’t care for, and this has been especially¬†so recently. It was like this last year, too. Makes for difficulty budgeting. And all of this was after a trip to Sacramento for work had been cancelled, which would have guaranteed a full day’s pay. As it is, now I’m not working tomorrow (first Thursday off in a while). Only about 15 hours this week, when a couple of weeks ago I had nearly 30. I’m hating the inconsistency.

Then, I basically was the deciding vote towards not gaming tonight. Half our players didn’t show up, or worse, showed up too late for me to be happy. The FLGS we play at is five minutes from work, and I’d sat in the store waiting for over an hour before anyone showed up. One of the players decided not to show only about the time I arrived at the store (5PM) and only gave notice at that point. Others got caught in traffic. But after an hours wait, I felt like I’d waited long enough. My indigestion (related to weight gain from the past year of a fast-food heavy diet related to work) was flaring, I had a headache, and just ended up not feeling like staying for a game in which our spread of characters were not up to the ask of completing the encounter we’d begun last week.

So I came home and started poking around at the Internet, falling asleep sometime around 9PM and sleeping through until about half an hour ago. And I’m ready for more.

What a day. Blech!

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 20, 2014, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

