NaBloPoMo 2014 – Entry 23 – Ugh.

Got home around 3AM after the game, and I’m surprised I wasn’t more tired. It took a while to get to sleep, but once I did, I slept until nearly 1PM. I spent the afternoon trying to get more of The Dragon in the Sword read. I really want it to be done. It’s really dragged along, but now that I’m within the last 50 pages, it’s finally picking up.

By the time I got up, my mother had left for dialysis. The dialysis center needed to change her schedule to accommodate the holiday next week. When she got home, she complained of being cold. Within an hour, we’d figured out she was sick and needed to go to the hospital.

This time it seems likely it’s sourced in her “sidecar.” Neuropathy, a side effect of diabetes, causes muscles to pull incorrectly, which causes bones to shift from their proper alignments. In Mom’s case, the metatarsals of her little toe on her left foot sticks out now, creating a lump on the outside of her left sole. That rubs and can get an ulcer. We noticed this Tuesday, and Thursday she was at the podiatrist, who debrided that day. However, as her left foot was warmer to the touch than the rest of her, it seems likely that’s where the infection is.

Hopefully, we’ll have her back home by Thanksgiving, but I’m not counting on it. They usually have her in the hospital for about a week every time she gets an infection like this. She’s had quite a few in the past couple of years.

That’s all I’ve got. I work tomorrow. I’m supposing since Thanksgiving is the biggest time of travel across the US, the rental company I work for is needing me to be driving again after working two days already this pay period (mine are Fridays to Thursday, with weekly paychecks). More money in my pocket for Christmas, I guess. Anyway…

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 24, 2014, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

