More Movies and Some Goals Accomplished (Finally)

Last time, I mentioned seeing a couple of movies. There was another I’d seen during those days between the end of NaBloPoMo and the last post, but I can’t remember now what it was. I remember enjoying it, but damned if I can tell you what was.

I watched the first episodes of John Rogers’ new The Librarians, which were shown as a movie. It made me want to run Mage again, like Welcome to Night Vale did. The Urban Fantasy settings of both really enchant and inspire me.

Last night, I watched Guardians of the Galaxy again with the Framily. There’s some really cool stuff in there. In the Blu-Ray, there’s a remark by James Gunn that he’s got books of info on the various aliens we see throughout the movie. I’d love to see it and give it a read.


I finally got back to typing up my notes on the StarSea setting I’d made last year, and I finally finished Notepad #3. I need to scan the images, which I’ve been doing with my iPad and an app I’ve gotten for it. Then I need to move on with Notepad #4, and some other random notes in a couple of other locations.

While doing that, I realized there are some gaping holes in the historical notes I’ve written to that point. I’m sure there are solutions for these issues. It just blew me away to see those errors. But then, this is why I’m doing the retype: I’m also re-reading and finding the holes in my ideas.


One of the other things I’ve been thinking about is the effects of Corruption on the People, and monsters created thereby. In general, based on a Person’s connections/allegiance, Corruption has a different effect. So, a Primal who becomes saturated with Corruption becomes a lycanthrope (a word I hate using, but “were” doesn’t really work either). Divines become undead, Arcanes become lesser demons and devils, and Psionics become aberrations (basically stealling the D&D idea as I have no better idea).

What happens to the Unempowered? (Again, I hate the word used. I need better.) The average citizen will change as well, but to the humanoid spectrum. Humans become orcs, gnomes become goblins, etc. So there I have a reason for more “species.”


I mentioned doing my scanning with my iPad, and I mentioned last time that I was having trouble getting my photos of my so-called beard of the iPad. I can’t afford the iCloud service, but I can definitely afford Google Drive, so I’ve loaded my images up over there, as well as a couple of other files. I’m planning on taking advantage of those services more, including possibly learning Markdown in order to start formatting my Plaintext files. Hopefully, this week I’ll get my photos downloaded and processed so y’all can see them.


That’s about all I have to cover this week. Time to do some scanning. Later.

 

 

 

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on December 15, 2014, in Movies and Television, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

