Challenge… Accepted?

So, last Monday, Scott Martin, one of the gnomes of Gnome Stew, posted on Facebook about a mini-con done here locally at one of the County Libraries called “Bookwyrm.” This event is in April, on the 18th, and he tagged me in a comment as follows:

Craig runs a wide variety of games for a lot of different audiences… if we’re lucky, maybe StarSea will be ready for an alpha playtest.

My first thought was a little bit of panic. “Omigod! I’m not ready!” But then my next thought was, “No, wait a minute, I’ve been thinking about where I am lately…” And the reality is, I have a pretty good handle on the StarSea as a setting. Most of my vacillation is really about historical elements of the setting, and some on the way I’ll use the Fate System to accomplish my goals with said setting. Most of the rules stuff I’m uncertain about is character creation, and I can do pre-gens for the con, so that’s not an issue. I just have to make some decisions on how weapons and armor works. So, I chose to view this comment as an unintended challenge to myself. I’ve never run a con game (not a Con Game, but… well, you know what I mean), but I can either wilt or meet the challenge.

Once the idea was set in my mind, I pretty much let it go, to be something I’d post about. However, I still hadn’t run Fate yet. Strangely enough, our DMs cancelled our regular LFR game this week, and I jumped on the chance to run a Fate Accelerated game. Fate Accelerated Edition (FAE) is kind of the training wheels version of the game. We did some abbreviated character creation, and I used the players’ creations to formulate a plotline (after stealing a hefty chunk of concept from WWGS’s Exalted). I didn’t cover all the rules, but I hit some of the high points. I got into invoking and compelling, and fate points, but didn’t get into Overcomes, Creating Advantages, Attacking or Defending specifically, but let the players get used to the die roll system and applying skills. Everyone had fun, or so they claimed at Afters. 🙂 I was quite happy with the results. I was still gushing about it after work Friday with one of the Wednesday Night Regulars.

This week, I’ll be working on figuring out what I can do for a plot for a short run game, cook up some characters that fit within the StarSea, and then putting together an elevator pitch/game summary, as paperwork needs to be submitted by the end of the month.

That’s all I really have for this week. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on January 19, 2015, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Glad you chose to step up to the challenge. The way I figure, you have 90% of the work done, and the rest can be set and later edited as required. Sort of a beta release of StarSea. All good games evolve as you fall deeper in the rules and discover the way they effect game play. To me, “almost done” is a feature not a bug.

    Play, observe, tweak. Repeat. its how you take a good idea and make it into a great one.

Leave a Reply

