Facing a Block and Pushing Past It

I’m just going to jump right into game development stuff, as there really wasn’t anything personal worth discussing.

Well, after a little research, I noticed that the Toolkit does include races as part of the mode spread for a fantasy world example. As I tinkered with it, I came to the conclusion that it was a great tool for developing the personalities for the races. It was frustrating, otherwise. I could come to descriptions that didn’t include a lot of overlap, which was a problem for me. I did get ideas for more details than I’ve had, though.

This lead to my block, though. Like most settings, I want Humans to be the race that is the balance of the others. At present, I find the personalities of the other races a little on the peaceful and friendly side. They’re all… “Good Guys”. Elves are an ancient race associated to dragons, having dragon blood in their veins. They were also the dragons’ emissaries in the wars against the Ür. The Dwarves are more spiritual, living golems, with a more calm, less grudge-oriented personality than is typical. The Gnomes are somewhat insectile, but also the mischief makers. Now, I think I need a warrior race, a race that stirs the pot even more than humanity does. The race to be the Bad Boys who work with the Good Guys, like half-orcs and tieflings in 4e. These are valuable archetypes that I want represented, but with orcs being the result of Corruption, as well as avoiding the bad genetics of interspecies breeding, half-orcs don’t fit. And tieflings are even farther out of the realms of possibility. While I’d like to have a mythical background for the race, I think I’m going to have to go in a different direction. The idea of animal people (more so than the vaguely animal linked races I already have) does not appeal to me, for reasons I’ve mentioned before in this blog, some time back. I didn’t know what that direction was until just this moment, but an old idea just popped into my head that I’m going to have to tinker with.

As well, I submitted my pitch for the Con game today, maybe a little late. However, here’s what I submitted:

Title: Rediscovered Treasure

Description: Mystic knights sailing techno-magical ships through a sea of stars, waging a war of ideas to restore an ancient realm.

A world has been rediscovered, lost to the realm for centuries. Your Order, the Knights Psionic, need this new world and its resources to increase their standing in the coming wars. Have the other Orders learned of this world? Have they sent agents to claim it? Will the war of ideas turn to a war of violence and bloodshed over this new world? Your cadre has been sent to find out.

Pre-gen characters will be provided. No experience with Fate required.

I submitted for early Sunday, as the Kids’ D&D game is scheduled for that same Saturday. I’d rather not run so early in the morning, but I was going to have to either way, and I’d rather not do two games in one day again.

Well, that’s all I have time for tonight. Off to drive tomorrow! Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 3, 2015, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Perhaps its too obvious, but why not make most of the humans the bad guys? Among other things you’d be taking a position of historical accuracy.

Leave a Reply

