Descriptive Descriptiveness

This week, our LFR DM cancelled again, so I continued our impromptu Fate game. We got a couple of more of the concepts going, but the players still aren’t doing much with invoking their aspects, but that’s probably because I’m not suggesting it much. I’m calling for rolls regularly, but usually when the players say, “I want to do [X].” I’m not enough in the habit of suggesting that an aspect would apply. Something I need to remind myself to do while I’m GMing Fate.

As before bed reading, I’ve been reading through the Eldar Harlequin articles in the new issues of White Dwarf Weekly, in between articles on the mechanics of magic in various Fate-based games. The Harlequins have been a favorite of mine for a long time, basically since their second appearance in a compendium of WD articles. I even created a Champions character based on the Harlequins for a game in the early ’90s.

Otherwise, the reading I’ve been doing has given me some ideas on how to handle other magics than what I’m building right now, such as Mage the Ascension. However, I’m getting a handle on a variety of mechanics that are nudging me towards a more complete mechanic for the StarSea.

Between all of that, I wrote up paragraph descriptions of the species (including my yet to be named Bad Boys) and the Orders. I plan on printing these paragraphs on the play test character sheets, and using them as a basis for longer write-ups when I go to make a publication worthy text. I need to create aspects for each, which means teasing them out of the descriptions, but that shouldn’t be too tough.

I’ve also managed to name a couple of the skills I plan on using, most of which are renames of the Fate Core skill list. I have a couple of possibilities for some of the other skills, but I’m short on others. If nothing else, I’ll simply use the names as they  already exist, and rename them later.

One thing I’ve noticed is that I’ve drifted away from one of the elements I wanted to include, special weapons. Like the lightsaber, I wanted different orders to focus on certain styles and forms of weapons. However, in a game like Fate, in which weapons are typically just tools for exercising combat skills, special weapons have less of a place. They could be built as extras, but I’m wondering if there’s any point in doing that. There are rules for having superior weapons in the Toolkit, but I’m a little leery of using them. Hmm… I did just have a thought on how special weapons could be modeled. I need to think about it more before I discuss it, as it’s a big departure from the regular systems.

So, that’s pretty much all for this week. I’m out of steam on a lot of levels. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 9, 2015, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

