Trying to find my way back

I’ve spent most of this week dealing with that reminder from the past. Thursday, I posted this one Facebook:

I’ve just realized that what’s been disturbing my sleep all week is an internal conflict of my morals regarding my legal obligations versus my opinions of the morality of the practices of those to whom I have the legal obligations.

Suffice it to say I believe I resolved this Friday, after doing some research, and I don’t believe it will be a problem again.

This was a major distraction, but one I didn’t fell I could avoid. It only added to my situation though, and didn’t cause it.


I think I need a break from the mechanical/author-ish end of the StarSea for a little bit. I realized this after I found an app that allows me to print from my iPad. I printed the following image:

Eberron Elemental Airship by Steve Prescott, 2004. Copyright Wizards of the Coast. No challenge is intended.

I actually have a better image, one that seems to be print quality, or closer to it. I prefer this image to some of the other images from the setting, as there are people visible in the ship and that the ship is shaped aquatic but by it’s lack of sails acknowledges that it is powered by something other than winds.

Last night, when I got home after D&D, I hunted up the adventure that the graphic is originally from. The deck plans look like this:

Copyright 2004, Wizards of the Coast. No challenge intended.

The two are unrelated. It looks like the editor simply commissioned two pieces of artwork and didn’t think that the two images needed to match. Kinda typically sloppy WotC art direction.

But as I looked again at this ship in the first image, I realized that in the past couple of weeks, I’d lost my way by focusing a little too much on the game mechanics of the setting and loosing track of the stuff I wanted to focus on. “Too much crunch, too little chrome.”

As a little but of a distraction, I want to do more appropriate deck plans for this ship. A creative exercise, if you will, related to the StarSea. Maybe get those juices going again, to help me resolve some of my choices. I’m having a horrible time with names this go-around, and it’s making me freeze up. But I need something to kickstart me again before I lose interest and put the setting on the back burner.

My eyes are feeling it, so I’m thinking it’s time to call it. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on March 2, 2015, in Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

