Stymied

I didn’t manage to get anything done with that ship image I discussed last week. I worked almost every day this week, as a lot of the retirees I work with are taking days off. The day I was off, I was taking care of odds and ends of life.

However, Wednesday night I got the opportunity to run a serious Fate combat. I’m a bit disappointed. Maybe its because they don’t have a full compliment of aspects, but I’m just not getting the Fate Point flow I’m told is supposed to be happening. I spent most of mine, and the players spent theirs, but there was not recovery. There were virtually no compels, as there was so few applicable aspects to be compelled. This leaves me wondering if the Fate system is just not something I can make work for me. If adults can’t get into the flow of the system (and that includes me), how am I going to get the kids in my regular game to go with the flow?

On the other hand, while listening to Accidental Survivor podcasts while doing all that driving, they’ve mentioned a website regarding a large number of hacks for a system called Cortex, in particular the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying flavor. Cortex is the house system of Margaret Weis Productions, a game company started by one of the authors of the Dragonlance novels.

I picked up the MHRPG Basic Game book when it was available, and I was quite enchanted with how characters were described in that game. They’re very similar to Fate, with the hero or villain’s powers described as an umbrella term with mechanical powers attached. For example, Captain America has a “power set” called “Super-Soldier Program,” that encompasses all his physical capabilities (including the limitation that the government or popular opinion turning against him can cause him emotional issues that allow the GM to mess with him), and his “Vibranium-Alloy Shield,” that covers all the cool stuff he can do with his shield. There is more to every character, but those items are similarly simple in definition.

On their site, MWP says that they are going to create a new system based on the Marvel rules, as Marvel has terminated MWP’s license (or Disney has). Their generic rules are also available. I’m thinking already about the possibility of switching systems. It makes me feel a bit flaky, considering this change so late in development of my setting, especially after the amounts of money I’ve spent on Fate system books, and the time I’ve invested. However, I have to have a game I can run and get the expected results, or better, that I can convey to my players succinctly.

I may need to consult with my local expert at the game, Scott. I know he reads this blog regularly and may be able to advise me on how to get things running correctly with Fate. If not, I really have to consider making a change. Time will tell.

Well, I work tomorrow, so I have to call it a night. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on March 9, 2015, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

