New Blog Po… Bunnies!

I can announce, right off the bat, that I’m 99% over my cold, and in only two weeks. I get some coughing on occasion, especially when I get hot, or first thing in the morning. But largely, I’m over it. Last summer, I was coughing for two months. I can’t wait for fire season… </sarcasm>


StarSea work as been limited, as I’ve been distracting myself. I think contributing to my lack of motivation, in addition to fear of success, has been a lack of written fiction. I’ve read a couple of comic books, but nothing else other than rulebooks, which are notoriously lacking in entertainment, in and of themselves. They’re tools for entertainment, but not entertaining.

So, Sunday night I started reading the Swords Trilogy, one of the books I picked up last year from the books store. This book is the first three Corum novels. I re-read the comics a few months ago (before I picked up this hardback), but the actual text is so much better. Again, his descriptions are wonderful in their depth and imagination.

As well, there’s a forward by Michael Moorcock commenting on how he was in Cornwall when he started the book, and that they were inspired by Cornish myth. Of course, this meant I did some research on the Cornish language and the pronunciation on some of the words. (Corum’s full name is Corum Jhaelen Irsei, he’s of a race called the Vadhagh, who have enemies called the Nadragh. Welcome to self-inflicted world.)


I also found a new distraction on my iPad, called King’s Road. It’s basically a Diablo-style game. On the up-side, I’ve only wasted a few hours on it. It plays pretty easy, and hasn’t presented any crazy challenges that I can’t get past, so I’m enjoying it for now. It’s a freemium game, which annoys me a little, but it’s not stopping me, yet.


The little bit of work I did on the StarSea was some work on the Aphorisms. I have the third for the Psionics (“Our Gifts are meant to be shared.“), and a couple for the Arcanists (“Power is meant to be seized,” and “Those without Power are slaves.“) I’m not entirely happy with the Arcanists’ phrases, but the’ll do for now.

While I was reading Corum last night, I did get inspired with an image of a personal anti-grav carriage, and did a little sketch. Not sure I need another little bit of tech to be floating around (pun not intended), but it was a nice little exercise, and one I hope is the start of me getting back into a more creative mindset and break this logjam.


I think that’s it for this week. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on April 1, 2015, in Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

